The Death of My Junk Food Cravings

There is absolutely nothing that will have me running for the gym faster than an ugly fight to the death with my SPANX. The stupid contraption would not hold me in nicely and the unsightly bulge had me running away from the full length mirror in horror. Mind you, to the average onlooker, I may look like your average size 8 but if there is some wiggle around my middle, that means I have a pooch problem. So, that being said, it’s time to find a gym.

Now, working out is not a pleasurable experience for me, which I’m sure will resonate with many women, but as soon as I felt that dreaded jiggle when I walked….well let’s just say I kissed Ben & Jerry’s good-bye and I now put as much distance between me and the frozen food aisle as possible when at the supermarket.

Sigh. I so will miss the days when I was able to eat whatever my little heart desired and not gain a smidge of weight. Gone are the days that I didn’t have to think about the consequences of eating this or that. Sadly, those lovely days are over. No more Jerry Garcia or Phish food while watching the Lifetime Movie Channel, no more Jelly Belly’s during Dateline, no more late night pepperoni pizza during CSI Miami and definitely no more Ho Hos during The Real Housewives of New York City marathons. It was wonderful while it lasted but then Father Time decided to remind me that I was not going to be a spring chicken forever and to prove his nasty point, I noticed that my skin no longer snaps back as quickly as it used to and the “girls” no longer feel like they need to stand up straight. Yes, the quicker I find an exercise boot camp, the better.

The first gym I visited was for women only. One look around told me everything I wanted to know. As soon as I walked through those doors I noticed that every woman looked as though they had lost the battle against Sara Lee (read: pound cake and yummy goodness) and perhaps their wrinkle cream had been recalled. Seriously, I’m all for aging gracefully but sometimes Mother Nature needs a little assistance. So the Geritol gym was crossed off my list. I had no desire to be constantly reminded of the “senior years” which is looming eerily ahead of me. My grandmother is an elegant and beautiful woman and she would rather fade away than to look like some of these poor, wretched souls. They unfortunately looked as if they had given up the good fight and were only going through the motions. I am so not going down that road.

After a long, exhausting day of searching for a gym, the fourth location I visited was the charm. Great facility and amenities, the staff was eager and ready to push me to my fitness best and Mr. Muscle Guy behind the juice bar looked as though he were ready to whip me up a healthy smoothie quicker than I can say fatty patty.

Now don’t get too excited. I am not saying that I am ready to embrace the health craze movement but perhaps my body will thank me later (and I mean way later) by giving me a backside that I can bounce a quarter off of. Heh!

6 responses to “The Death of My Junk Food Cravings

  1. wordcreator

    I feel your pain. The Sara Lee war is waging on us all. I too do not feel the desire to jiggle in front of Mr Muscle guy. The memories of the 20 something eat all you see days. God speed on your quest against aging gracefully. I’m with you sister!!!

  2. Know what you mean! I’m a junk food junkie myself. Im not ready to let any of that go right now. Maybe in about 10 years I may change my mind 😉

  3. vicky Alvarez

    Loved it!

  4. Seriously, what about the guy with the purple eyes? Did he sway your decision any?

  5. Ahhh, you’ve made me nostalgic for those halcyon days and nights when my life’s theme song was “Anything Goes” (in my mouth), but yet there was never any evidence left behind. One night of dancing could knock off five pounds.

    Now, is it age that has slowed my metabolism so greatly, or is it my much slower lifestyle? No more dancing, running, not much walking or biking, and all-day sitting don’t make for a fit body.

    I can manage the food cravings in spurts, but you’ve inspired me to get more active, and since it’s summer already down South, I’ve got no excuse.

    As always, thanks for sharing your delightful way with words, Josie.

  6. Ah, yes, the dreaded moment when you absolutely must pick a gym because… well, the scale and mirror may lie, but skinny jeans don’t 😉

    I’m doing my best to get off my arse myself. I wish there were more gyms with free childcare nearby!

Leave a Reply

