Summer Sabbatical

New York City Summer

I’m not sure at what point did I decide to mentally take a break from my musings and from posting this past summer but alas, playtime is now over and it is time to get back to the business at hand of over sharing. Heh!

I wish, my darlings that I could say that I was off this summer doing something magnificent like touring the South of France, backpacking through Europe or dancing down under with my Australian sweethearts but no, it wasn’t anything that spectacular. I just needed to decompress from the sheer magnitude of being me and being everything to everyone. This summer was filled with family visits, a plethora of dinner parties, countless events, exhausting business trips and a staycation that was no vacation at all. Trust me when I tell you that by the time Labor Day rolled around, I wanted to run screaming from the city, leaving everyone a Dear John letter, and sending a post card from the inner bosom of some obscure resort in Tahiti. But, being the responsible wench that I am, the guilt would have had me putting down my coconut drink and leaving my little paradise behind so that I can go home to make everyone’s life organized and tidy again.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the fam and friends but once in a while I think it’s a great idea to just get away for a hot second, regroup and hit the reset button on our minds and spirit. There is nothing like a little alone time to help put a fresh face on those things that we are thankful for.

So, dear hearts, here’s to a great autumn. Salud!

8 responses to “Summer Sabbatical

  1. I am decompressing this weekend myself. You are right that sometimes it’s just difficult to keep up with all of one’s responsibilities, including those we choose to have in our lives vs. those we can’t escape.

    I have a hard time saying no to work. I never thought of myself as a workaholic until someone explained to me that most of those who suffer from Fibromyalgia, like I do, are workaholics. Looking back through my life, I see that I’ve never been content to work just one job — I’ve always tried to do more. Well, maybe by doing all of that extra work in my younger days, I’ve used up all of my mojo. This is what you really want to avoid.

    Aside from all of that, I’m glad you’re back with us. You’re my favorite city girl!

  2. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  4. Oh, my love. How I can relate to thee? In a myriad of ways.

    I am trying to get more things rolling and keeping too many balls up in the air. It’s a long story that would be better done via phone or email.

    I am taking a break at the end of the month, not a lot–but a few days to decompress. They are going to have to come more often I am afraid as I have so much on my plate.

    I am glad you are back with us, even though you have been tweeting around 🙂

  5. josieinthecity

    It’s really good to be back in the grove of things love. At times, life can become a bit overwhelming and somewhat taxing but when that happens, that is the time when we should step back, breath and THEN start anew. 🙂 Thanks for the AWESOME feedback!!! It’s always great to hear back from wonderful people like you.

  6. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

  7. Susanne Dickmann

    Hey Josie – thanks for follwoing. I had a similar summer – and although I di not go anywhere, and exhausted as if I had been hiking the Rockies in flip-flops. I guess this summer, everyone just wanted to live life. We are all being told that we live in a crisis and that our budgets are tight – some of us decided to go back to live for a while and re-bond with the living after years in cyberspace. Let me tell you – I am glad it is only me and my MAC from now on til Labor Day 🙂 Take good care – love from the Med in Spain. Susanne

  8. Ah girl I can totally relate! Women tend to be such nurturers and it can be so draining if we don’t decompress. I try to do that every so often by not picking up the phone or the laptop but of course they always find a way LOL Just count it as a blessing that you are so loved!

Leave a Reply

