Downward Dog

Yoga can be truly amazing if you could just relax enough to submit to the process and let go of those things that keep you mentally confined.  That said, someone forgot to send me the memo that I’m no longer as flexible as I thought I was. 

In my super supple teen years and early twenties, I fondly remember being able to comfortably sit with my legs crossed and twisted at the ankles or sitting on my bed cross-legged for hours of fun-filled, titillating gossip sessions while on the phone or having the ability to pull my legs behind my head just for kicks and giggles.  To even dream of trying some of those death-defying moves now would be sheer madness and you may need to call 911, STAT, because I’m not getting back up without medical attention. Yoga can be wonderful for the mind, body and soul but lately my body cares nothing for the experience. 

For instance, I was really excited recently about my first Yoga class. For those of you who know me, it is of no surprise that I was completely accessorized for the occasion.  New Yoga pants, diva top, pink Yoga mat and a great scrunchy to complete the outfit.  I had the fab look and I was ready to stretch it out with the pros.  Well, not so fast little Yogi. Back up the limo because no sooner did I get into the Downward Dog position when I got a downward cramp.  I let out the most horrifying ear-piercing yelp you’ve ever heard. The pain quickly ran down one butt cheek and ambushed my thigh.  It was so excruciating that I couldn’t move without the humiliating assistance of some of the more spritely (READ: annoying) 20-somethings in the group. Heaven, I just wanted to disappear.  Where was there a black hole when you needed one?  Needless to say, after that fiasco, this chica has been very careful about what she twists or bends. This aging thing really sucks!!

As for returning to the class…Hmmm…I wonder what else I can use this Yoga mat for?

4 responses to “Downward Dog

  1. Josie,

    Ah, yes. I remember being the most limber student in the yoga class at 13 — even the 16 year olds seemed like old ladies then. Then in my 20’s I regularly did a 75 minute routine that made me cry the first time — but I did it. NOW, after 20 years away from yoga, my plan is to start a very private class for just me, as soon as I get around to sticking the videos I bought two years ago into the DVD player some morning.

  2. The Yoga Snob

    Hey there Josie!
    I did get a serious kick out of this post. It’s hilarious but I just want to give you a little nudge of encouragement: keep going to class!! It gets easier and better and you start to know the diff between your body protesting and your mind complaining. I’m with you on the cute outfits – my fav yogawear haunts are lululemon and shakti activewear. Please keep going it gets better every time!

  3. MoobbibCeably

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  4. josieinthecity

    Thank you for all the support. Really appreciate you! 😀

Leave a Reply

